Orange Bowl Committee elects board members, officers

Sports By Linda Trischitta, Editor Friday, April 19, 2024

     The Orange Bowl Committee elected its 2024 – 2025 board of directors and officers and announced new members who joined the sports organization in March.

     Hector Tundidor Jr., a partner at Ernst & Young, LLP was elected second vice chair of the Orange Bowl Committee.

     He will become president and chair during the 2027 – 2028 college football season.

     New at-large board members are Ronald Albert Jr.; Shawn D. Crews; Angel Gallinal; Xavier E. Gonzalez; Melissa Gracey; David R. Heffernan; Jose Antonio Hernandez-Solaun and Les Pantin.

     Sean Pittman and Jose Romano were re-elected to the board as past presidents, joining OBC board members Christine M. Barney; Luis E. Boué; Marlon A. Hill; Vicki H. Matthews; Newton B. Sanon and Don Slesnick III.

     Suzanne Amaducci was elected secretary and joins the executive committee for the board of directors who are President and Chair Bradley D. Houser; President and Chair-elect Henri W. Crockett; First Vice Chair Michael E. Moran; Tundidor, Treasurer Salo Sredni; immediate past President and Chair Yvonne Johnson-Phillips, M.D. and Chief Executive Officer Eric L. Poms.  

     Nine new OBC members were chosen: Cristal Cole of Amazon; Spencer Crowley III of Ackerman LLP; Kate Grangard of Gehring Group; Saif Ishoof of Lab22c; Bob McFarlin of Miami Herald/McClatchy Company LLC; Rush Norton of Merrill Lynch; Caroline O’Connor of the Miami Marlins; Jorge E. Perez, M.D. of KIDZ Medical Services and Christine Valls of United Airlines.

     The Orange Bowl Committee is based in Miami Lakes.

     The Capital One Orange Bowl will be played Jan. 9, 2025 at the Hard Rock Stadium in Miami Gardens.