Pace Future Business Leaders chapter win medals at district competitions

Education By Brielle Perez, Special to The Laker Thursday, February 6, 2014


The Future Business Leaders of America organization is the largest career-oriented student organization in the world. It prepares its members for careers in dozens of business subjects, such as Entrepreneurship, Banking and Financial Systems, and E-Business by challenging them to compete against one another in these areas through administered tests as well as presentations. 

The FBLA chapter at Monsignor Edward Pace High School, under the guidance of their dedicated advisor, Hedda Falcon, was very successful as they recently competed at the district level in a variety of business subjects. 

Students received their testing and presentation results at the awards ceremony that the club attended on January 15, earning medals that qualify 18 members for the state-wide competition coming in March.

Pace's FBLA members continue to work diligently on sharpening their business skills and knowledge so they do just as well at the national competition this summer. 

The members who qualified for the Florida State Leadership Conference in their respective competitions included Nick Fernandez, Brielle Perez, and Steve Yildirim for first place in Banking and Financial Systems; Carolina del Rio in first place for Business Communication; Kenan Yildirim for first place in Computer Problem Solving; Anna Mendez in second place for Business Law; and Nicholas Marcelin for first place in Computer Gaming and Simulation. 

Additionally, Daniel Gonzalez and Matthew Arrojas came in second place for Global Business; Francine Crespi and Amanda Vega took first place for Hospitality Management; Angelica Toledo came in fourth place and Marlon Garcia in third place for Healthcare Administration; Anna Rossi came in third place for Introduction to Business Communications; Lexie Perez captured first place for Introduction to Business; Juana Diaz came in second place for Word Processing; Katherine Gomez won second place for Website Design; and Melissa Rey won first place in Public Speaking.