Miami Lakes honors Women of Distinction

Community By Alexandra Herrera, Reporter Wednesday, April 3, 2024

The Town of Miami Lakes and its Cultural Affairs Committee saluted six Women of Distinction during an annual luncheon on March 16 at Town Hall. 

    Judy Farcus Serra, chief financial officer for Headquarter Toyota, won in the business category. Her nominator described the $50,000 she raised from the Reindeer Run 5K, her volunteer work on the Veterans Committee and her achievements in the automobile industry.

     Helen Roldan serves on the Neighborhood Improvement Committee. Her nomination form describes her as a “champion for the Miami Lakes community,” her years of volunteering that began in high school and her efforts to remove “Miami Lakes Residents Only” signs at town parks. 

     Teacher Michelle Wright from Miami Lakes K-8 Center is an educator whose philosophy is “every child can learn and succeed,” according to her nomination paperwork.         She has a nurturing approach toward her exceptional education students in the second and third grades and has taught in Miami-Dade County Public Schools since 1987. 

     Miami-Dade Police Det. Miriam Nieves of the Miami Lakes District won in the government category. Her recommender said she has solved 102 cases and made 48 felony arrests during the last five years. She has been an Officer of the Quarter for the town district and was recognized by the Miami Lakes Public Safety Committee

     The arts winner was Patty Fernandez, president and executive director of Main Street Players, where she has worked for 30 years as a volunteer, actor and for nearly five years, as board president. 

     Janet Waterfield, an acupuncturist with her own practice, won in the health care category. Waterfield is described as “a well-rounded individual” who has practiced acupuncture in Miami Lakes for 24 years. A member of the Miami Lakes Chamber of Commerce, she has worked with Florida International University’s Healthy Living Program. 

     Judge Diana Vizcaino, a previous Women of Distinction winner, was keynote speaker.

     Shown in the photo from left, Cultural Affairs Committee members Karla Acosta and Elsa Reus; Main Street Players President Patty Fernandez; Miami-Dade Police Det. Miriam Nieves; teacher Michelle Wright; Madelin Santana, Cultural Affairs Committee vice chair; volunteer Helen Roldan; Acupuncturist Janet Waterfield; Headquarter Toyota Chief Financial Officer Judy Farcus Serra; Trinette Zarran, Cultural Affairs Committee secretary; Judge Diana Vizcaino, keynote speaker and Cultural Affairs Committee members Jacqueline Lebeda, Geraldine Amandola, Chair Felicia Salazar and Charles James.