Pace High's Track and Field teams show improvement in competitions

Sports Wednesday, March 19, 2014


Monsignor Edward Pace High School’s men’s and women’s track and field teams have shown continued improvements during competition action as they matched up against Coral Reef, Belen, Lourdes and Barrington High School.  

The female Spartan’s 4x800m relay team recorded their fastest time of the year when they ran 11:21.36. The relay team consisted of Natalie Fernandez, junior (2:44), Naja Murphy, sophomore (2:50), Nicole Diaz, freshman (2:51) and Nina Pulley, senior (2:54). In the open female 400m, Pulley also improved from 68 seconds to 64 seconds.

Josephine Letner cleared 4’4” in the high jump and continued by opening up in the long jump. Letner recorded a solid first jump of 12’2” – a season best.

On the men’s side, the Spartan’s 4x800m relay team also recorded a season‘s best of 8:38. This 5 second improvement from 8:43 pulls the team further together positively.  The team consisted of seniors Dimitri Wolf (2:04), Peter Paul Grootens, (2:04), and Gregory Louis (2:16), and junior Chris Ventura (2:16). 

In the open events, seniors and training partners Grootens and Wolf continued to lead the team by recording four respectable times within a three hour window. Grooten’s times are: 2:04 (800m split), 4:47 (mile), 56 seconds (open 400m), and 24.69 seconds (200m). 

Wolf’s times are: 2:04 (800m split), 5:01 (mile), 55 seconds (open 400m) and  24.60 seconds (200m). Not too far behind is Ventura. He recorded 2:16 (800m split), 5:03 (mile), 59 seconds (open 400m) and 26.00 seconds (200m).

Coming back from a major ankle sprain, junior sprinter Avery Canty showed his speed.  His 23.31 seconds in the 200m was a major improvement from his previous 25.10.  It was not only a season best for Canty, but a personal best. Edward Medina, junior, opened up in the long jump with a first leap of 16’1”.

Freshman sprinter Robert Harding continues to improve in the 100m open.  The unofficial time of 11.21 from his previous official time of 11.88 placed him fourth overall. 

Honorable mentions for the 200m include Chad Fowler, Gregory Louis, Eric Cadet, Vlad Rochebrun, Holden Placide, Ezekiel Jackson, Arturo Quintana, Antonio D’Argenzio, Matthew Figueroa, Adam Ribeiraud, Andrew Sanchez, Sebastian Pena, Andres Perez and Richard Estrada.