School Board chair honored with women's 2019 Trailblazer Award

Wednesday, April 17, 2019 0 Comments

School Board chair honored with women's 2019 Trailblazer Award
Miami-Dade County School Board Chair Perla Tabares Hantman was awarded the 2019 Trailblazer Award by the Miami-Dade City/County Management Association and the Miami-Dade County League of Cities. The award is given annually in recognition of efforts by outstanding women in the community.
This year’s award ceremony was held at Pinecrest Gardens in the Village of Pinecrest. The first ever recipient of the award was former Congresswoman Ileana Ros-Lehtinen who was on hand at this year’s award ceremony to help present the award to Hantman.
Also participating in the presentation of the award was Senator Bob Graham who said, “It is an honor to recognize Perla for all her many years of leadership, commitment and dedication to the children of our community.”
Hantman has served on the Miami-Dade County School Board since 1996 and has been elected to an unprecedented 11 terms as the Chair. Ramiro Inguanzo, incoming president of the Miami-Dade City/County Management Association said: “Chairwoman Hantman has spent over 30 years working to improve the quality of educational opportunities for children from Pre-K through college and she was an obvious choice for this year’s award.”
Hantman said she’s honored for the award and vowed to continue her work in the education community. “I am honored to have been chosen to receive the 2019 Trailblazer Award Honoring Women in Public Service. I am privileged to represent the School Board, a mission that I have performed with great pride and enthusiasm for many years,” she said.
Please login or register to post comments.

Theme picker